Google Reviews

John Douglas Rancho Piano IconJohn Douglas Rancho Piano

23139 Joaquin Ridge Drive, Murrieta

5.0 15 reviews

  • Avatar Karol Steiner ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    John Douglas has tuned my piano for many years, and I wouldn't think to call a different tuner. He is always ready to meet my schedule when I need him to come, and cares about doing the best possible job to keep my piano tuned for … More the long-hall. His demeanor is friendly, warm, and professional. I trust him with his advice about technical questions about the works of the piano, and his tuning and ear are spot on, being discriminative because of his own musical expertise. He plays beautifully and I enjoy hearing him play my piano when my piano is perfectly tuned! His prices are generously affordable. Call him today!
  • Avatar Susan Morris ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    John Douglas had been tuning my piano and my mom's for decades. He is spot on, knowledgeable, professional, fair, incredibly talented, and is a wonderful personally. Do not hesitate to call for tuning or lessons. It is such a joy … More when we comes.
  • Avatar luz chavez ★★★★★ 4 months ago
  • Avatar Steve Staudenmeir ★★★★★ a year ago
    I was looking for a piano tuner and found John Douglas through a Google search. He did a marvelous job and my piano which hadn't been tuned in a number of years sounds like it is brand new! Reasonable price too and I noticed he focuses … More on getting the tuning job right not the amount of time it takes. My piano is so much more pleasurable to play. I also enjoyed talking to John who is quite an accomplished pianist himself and he showed me how to play a few of the pieces I am interested in studying. He is an all around nice guy and I highly recommend him to others. I haven't taken lessons from him but he seems like he would be a great teacher.
  • Avatar Nancy McCarthy ★★★★★ a year ago
    My daughter was 5 when we decided to look into piano lessons for her. My daughter always showed an interest in music and we had a small keyboard that she used to play, teaching herself by "ear" how to play simple songs. I finally … More "googled" piano teachers in our local neighborhoods and Mr. Douglas' name came up. It was after reading several reviews that I decided to give him a call to see if he would be willing to work with my daughter. We didn't know how my daughter would respond, being only 5, so the first time we met, it was just to see how she would interact with him...she was very enthusiastic when we left and Mr. Douglas was very professional. My daughter is now 7 and absolutely loves piano, music and her lesson time with Mr. Douglas! She describes him as “stern, but fun!” LOL! Seriously, she has a great respect and admiration for him. Mr. Douglas is a very gifted, classical player and has been teaching since 1970. If you are serious about your child learning piano, Mr. D is the way to go! Our lesson time has become our favorite evening of the week and we do not for one second regret starting piano, especially because of Mr. D! Told my husband last week, “we can’t ever move…unless Mr. D moves too!” LOL I can’t speak highly enough about our experience with Mr. Douglas and my daughter’s progress has been phenomenal! He really knows how to bring the best out of your child, while teaching the proper technic, theory and performance! HIGHLY Recommended!
  • Avatar Sean Gillam ★★★★★ a year ago
    Wonderful piano teacher. Very Patient and helpful.
  • Avatar Brandon Yi ★★★★★ a year ago
    John Douglas is an absolutely incredible piano teacher. I highly recommend him to anyone in the area looking for piano lessons. I have been getting lessons from Mr. Douglas for almost four years now and I enjoy every lesson.
  • Avatar Brad Heiner ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    John Douglas has a passion for teaching and has helped our kids improve their talent for composition in addition to regular lessons for almost 4 years. We would highly recommend John Douglas for anyone interested in piano lessons.
  • Avatar Sharon Winer ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    John has been tuning my pianos for 25 years, and he does an excellent job, takes great care with tuning and advises me if my piano needs any further attention. I also teach piano, but I recommend John to more advanced Classical students. … More
  • Avatar Karen Marchese ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    My father was an accomplished musician. He was first chair clarinet-est for the University of Chicago Symphony while he attended college and medical school. He learned to play the piano shortly before I was born and continued to study … More piano throughout my childhood. It was my father who encouraged me to learn to play and I began taking lessons. I stopped taking lessons around the age of 14 but never lost my love of classical music. Over the years I would resume lessons periodically. The 6 or so teachers I tried lacked the ability to help me advance as they themselves were unable to play the music I was seeking to learn. After my father passed away I wanted to play again. I needed to find a teacher who would not only be able to help me regain my skills but could help me advance. I started lessons (after a 30 years) once again and once again couldn't find a teacher to help me. I met John Douglass when he came to tune my piano last year. We chatted for a bit, he offered me a trial lesson, and I have been his student ever since. John is not only an amazing pianist, he is a gifted teacher. My playing is only for fun but John does not let me slack. His patience is remarkable. Finding a good piano teacher is hard. Finding an exceptional piano teacher is rarity. John is a rare find and I would encourage anyone who is interested in taking lessons to start with him. His rates are competitive, he is extremely professional, he can take care of your piano, he can play the music you want to learn, and more. You will not be disappointed!
  • Avatar Victoria Harrold ★★★★★ 6 years ago
    My daughter took piano lessons from John Douglas for 12+ years, including summers between college (her choice). Judging from the experiences of others whose children took lessons and then never played again once the lessons stopped, my … More daughter has a love for playing to this day.
    John's background is in classical piano. As he explained when my daughter was young and not too keen on playing Bach and Beethoven on a regular basis (he did break it up a bit), training a student classically develops their ability to pick up and play just about any genre of music eventually.
    John is a wonderful instructor and I wish every child could grow up learning piano from him. Our experience has enhanced my own love for and appreciation of music, not just our daughter's. I thank John Douglas for that.
    We shipped her the piano that John restored and sold to us at the time our daughter began lessons. It was our college graduation gift to her.